Jul 19 2017

APPG for Education elects new officers

The APPG met on Monday 17th July to elect the officers of the group and discuss areas for discussion over the course of the next parliament. The following were unanimously elected as officers of the APPG:

Co-Chairs: Nic Dakin MP and Andrea Jenkyns MP

Vice-Chairs: Lord Storey and Emma Hardy MP

The new group briefly discussed the successes of last Parliament’s Education APPG, including the comprehensive inquiry into career progression for young people.

A variety of issues were raised for inclusion in the upcoming agenda and future work of the group, with a full programme to be released in due course. Topics included primary assessment, teacher retention and training, mental health provision in schools, home school tuition, role of school governors and school funding.  Now that the APPG has been successfully formed, the members are looking forward to continuing their work scrutinising the issues surrounding education provision in the UK over the course of the next Parliament.

The meeting was adjourned at 4.00pm and the Secretariat agree to circulate a copy of How well do schools prepare children for their future report with the minutes of the meeting.

Please click here to see biographies of the officers of the reformed group.