↑ Return to About the APPG

Officers and Members in the last Parliament

Danny Kinahan, Chair
UUP, South Antrim

Danny was elected as MP for South Antrim in 2015. Before entering Parliament, Danny was a member of the Northern Ireland Assembly and was the Deputy Chair of the Committee for Education. Prior to joining the Ulster Unionist Party, Danny was an officer in the British Army, serving in Germany, Northern Ireland and the Falklands. He also pursued a career as an arts dealer after he left the Army.

Danny has been Chair of the APPG for Education since 2015.


Nic Dakin, Vice-Chair
Labour, Scunthorpe

Nic Dakin has served as the MP for Scunthorpe since 2010. He has a professional background in education. He is an Opposition Whip, a former Shadow Minister for Education and the former Commons Shadow Deputy Leader. In addition to his role as Vice-Chair of the APPG for Education, Nic is involved in a number of other APPGs including as Chair for the APPG for Skills and Employment. He recently pushed for fairer funding for post-16 education.


Fabian Hamilton, Vice-Chair
Labour, Leeds North East

Fabian has served as the MP for Leeds North East since 1997, prior to which he was a member of Leeds City Council. Fabian is a Shadow Minister for Defence and Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs. He is a former member of the Foreign Affairs Select Committee, the  International  Development Committee and the Political and Constitutional Reform Committee. He has chaired or vice chaired the APPGs for Turkey, Iran, Tibet, Iceland, Japan and Morocco. His other interests include education, prison health, palliative care and charity.

Andrea Jenkyns, Vice-Chair
Conservative, Morley and Outwood

Andrea was elected MP for Morley and Outwood in 2015. Prior to her election, Andrea served as a Lincolnshire County Councillor for Boston North West. From July 2015 she sat on the Health Select Committee, and she is also a Trustee and the Regional Representative for the charity MRSA Action UK. Andrea is the Chair of the APPG on Local Democracy and the APPG on Patient Safety, and Vice Chair of the APPG on UK Music and the APPG on Education. Andrea is passionate charity fundraiser, singer, healthcare activist and animal lover.



Rushanara Ali MP
Caroline Ansell MP
Richard Burden MP
Ruth Cadbury MP
Neil Carmichael MP
Alex Cunningham MP
Chris Davies MP
Thangam Debbonaire MP
Michelle Donelan MP
Flick Drummond MP
Nigel Evans MP
Kevin Foster MP
Louise Haigh MP
Chris Heaton-Harris MP
Nigel Huddleston MP
Rupa Huq MP
Ranil Jayawardena MP
Graham Jones MP
George Kerevan MP
Sir Edward Leigh MP
Steve McCabe MP
Ian Mearns MP
Andrew Rosindell MP

Joan Ryan MP
Ruth Smeeth MP
Jeff Smith MP
Graham Stuart MP
Craig Tracey MP
Anne Marie Trevelyan MP
Stephen Twigg MP
David Warburton MP
Matt Warman MP
Craig Williams MP
Lord Alton of Liverpool
Lord Boswell of Aynho
Baroness Finlay of Llanduff
Baroness Hooper CMG
Baroness Howe of Idlicote CBE
Baroness Hughes of Stretford
Baroness Linklater of Butterstone
Lord Lucas
Rt Hon the Baroness Morris of Yardley
Lord Quirk
Lord Storey
Lord Warner
Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe